Time to Drop the G Word

You know the word I’m talking about….

image

And unless you are committing adultery, murder or a crime of fashion (other crimes included), you probably have no real reason to feel so guilty.

So what do we do? We find things to feel guilty about instead, like…..

“I should have filled out my pregnancy diary/ baby book for Bean to read when she’s older”

“Did my real ale craving have an effect on Bean when I was pregnant”

“I don’t spend enough quality time with my family”

“It’s 2pm and me and Bean are still in our pj’s!”

“Why did I eat 3 pieces of cake instead of the usual 2??”

“I shouldn’t have given the 4th piece of cake to my 11 month old!!!!”

“I should be cleaning instead of sitting in my pj’s eating cake with my 11 month old!!!!!!”

I think we can all relate to this.

I’m a good mum (well I try my best to be) and I put my family first when I can. So why do I spend most of my time feeling guilty about the desicions I make??

So this leads me onto a huge decision I made yesterday.

I HAVE QUIT SLIMMING WORLD!!!!!

This doesn’t mean that I’ll be sending Superman off to McDonald’s for a Big Tasty, with a cheeseburger and chicken nuggets on the side (because I did that on Sunday!!!) I still want myself and my family to eat well and for me loose the extra persons worth of weight that I carry daily on my arse!! But Iv been going to Slimming World on and off for 3 years now and I’m ready for a change.

Don’t get me wrong, I massively belive in Slimming World, and I think it’s still one of the best “diets” out there for people who love their food and have a lot of weight to loose, unfortunately, I seem to constantly cheat myself by being “good” for 3 days and then blowing it at the weekend, which then makes me feel GUILTY!!!!!

Monday nights end up being completely mental due to picking the kids up from school at 3.15, preparing their tea, rushing out at 4.45 in a flustered mess and leaving Superman with all 3 kids and loads of pots to wash so I can go to Slimming World, see how much weight I’ve put on and then listen to everyone share how well they’ve eaten for 2 hours. Then I get home, make mine and Superman’s tea, spend no time with the kids and then they go to bed!!! If it wasn’t for the fact that Slimming World Mondays were the only time I saw my Mum on a regular basis, I would have given up weeks ago!!

Another reason to feel GUILTY, not spending time with my Mum!! It’s not like it was time well spent as the only time we had together was the short journey in the car each week that we spent putting the world to rights and bitching about everyone who’s pissed us off that weekend!

So yesterday,  an hour before I was due to pick up the kids from school and start the usual routine, I decided that enough was enough!! Time to stop feeling guilty and start making decisions that make me and my family happy!! I had a good old chat with my best friend Superman, who made me realise that we have one life, and if something isn’t working, change it!!!

I’m still going to be eating healthy and encouraging my family to do the same.
I’ve been hugely inspired by people like Deliciously Ella, a blogger who completely changed her diet to a more plant based diet due to ill health and has now written a fabulous cook book! I’ve wanted to try her recipes for a while, but being on Slimming World meant I had to work out syn values, even for healthy and nutrient packed foods like chia seeds and coconut oil, even cooked fruit is syned!

Now I feel free to try new foods that are less processed and low in sugar without being a slave to calorie counting and weighing. I’ve been reading a lot about food, clean eating and fueling my body instead of starving myself to look good. I’m a complete foodie so hopefully this new excitement will stop me craving a KFC and change the way I look at food, without all the guilt that comes with “dieting”. Hopefully, dropping the refined sugar and other food nasties will help me be rid of my own illnesses, fibromyalgia, depression and anxiety, it’s worth a try right??

Having free Monday nights will also mean I’m less stressed, I can spend more time with my family and it almost forces me to find another day to see my mum, doing something that makes the most of our time together.

Another bonus is that I can now go dancing on Tuesdays!! I already go to a burlesque class on Thursday for an hour and I love it so much that I wanted to go to the Tuesday class too, which meant leaving Superman with the kids 3 nights a week and it didn’t seem fair!
As it’s only on 6-7pm, I can now do both and not feel guilty for not being with my family, and spending some quality time on myself!!

We’re all GUILTY of doing things because it’s routine and seems like an  easier option, not because it makes us happy!! Some of the best desicions we make can seem the hardest or scariest to start with.

I dont know if I’ll be able to kick my families sugar habit or if ill end up 10 stone heavier after feasting on a jar of coconut oil a day, but I’m giving it a try, GUILT free!!!!!

We can’t fall off the wagon if we decide to be healthy and walk instead.

What decisions are you going to make to stop you from feeling so guilty???

2 thoughts on “Time to Drop the G Word

  1. thesingleswan says:

    HI,

    thanks for this post. To be a mother is to feel guilty right? I’ve never felt guilt so cutting as I do now that I am a mother. the main thing that I feel guilty about is not spending enough time with my son. I work full time to pay the bills etc (my ex gives me very little – something about his pride being hurt because I left him) . I would like to be able to spend more quality time with my son, not just snatched moments morning and evening before I go to work and when I get home.

    You don’t need to feel guilty about quitting slimming world. After three years you are not going to learn anything new and you don’t need to go to slimming world to eat healthily. Good luck. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • mumofabean says:

      Guilt is an arsehole!! But you’re obviously doing a great job or you wouldn’t be feeling so guilty!!
      I feel guilty for so many things and that was one I’m glad I dropped! I’m eating much better now and so is Bean!!
      We should start a drop the guilt club hahaha xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

